Scope for the Imagination

I’ve been listening to Anne of Green Gables, the Liverbox (Liverbox?!) recording of it, on my iPhone at work.  It’s a splendid way to pass the time.  It has reminded me that I actually, as much as I try very hard to be sensible, am rather fond of romance in the form of flowery descriptions of nature and Anne’s general undying zest for beautiful things.  My walls are currently white and bare, leaving much room for the imagination!  And my imagination can either imagine lovely things from the bare and empty, or it can imagine horrid things into the real and commonplace.

I am breathing a sigh of relief that the week is over.  JM and I have been planning and planning since last week and I have to say I’m quite pleased with how everything worked out.  There were a few scattered texts and frantic last minute questions, but for the most part, it looks like everyone made it to their destination okay and was fed, hopefully spiritually as well as physically.

Today I finally used the Crock-pot that I procured from Jessica and I am quite pleased with that as well.  Yes, I think I have found a new friend.  Dear me, you mean I can just put everything in and let it sit there on low and not worry about it burning?  Sounds like an ideal sort of cooking to me.  Not to mention I do love tender meat that has been cooking for hours and hours.  Whoever invented it is a genius.

I’ve been too busy to sit down and blog lately, but hopefully in the coming weeks I’ll have more room for thoughts and reflections.  I think whenever I read fiction, I have the urge to write and to dream.  As if I didn’t do that enough.  But, novels!  They do open the eyes to things you have always seen as ordinary and paint them in a lovely light.  I do think I have been squashing my right brain for far too long because I felt so deficient in my left.  But I mustn’t give up what is naturally stronger while I train that which is weak, right?  I think it’s high time I put my right brain to use.  Now, what shall I put on my cork-board?

Leave a Reply

