Brown Paper Packages Tied Up with String

I love Sound of Music.  I love it so much that even though the live version recently put out starring whatsherface Carrie Underwood was less than perfect, I still thoroughly enjoyed it.  The music, it’s about the music.  So what if the girl can’t act?  I admit it was a bit of an eyesore to watch the beginning, but I feel like she improved as the scenes went on.  Also, the Mother of the convent played her role excellently.  She even made me cry.  Yes, I cried in a infamously badly done production of Sound of Music with “deer in headlights” Carrie.  Why?  The story, the music, the setting.  Much of it was far too relatable having passed through my own struggles (and perhaps, still passing through) with being on time and trying to not sing at inappropriate moments.  If I had to type Maria, she would definitely be an ENFP, no questions asked.  Also, in defense of the Sound of Music done in December by NBC, it’s better to not compare it to the 1965 movie but to the 1959 stage musical, as it was done live with no retakes.  Holding all the criticism and that in mind, I wasn’t as disappointed as I thought I would have been when I finally watched the performance.  So if you haven’t watched it and are planning to and would like to enjoy it, do yourself a favor and don’t expect Julie Andrews 1965.  It’ll be much more entertaining that way.

Leave a Reply

