Is inspiration merely inspiration?

Most of us think of “inspiration” as a positive phrase, but I grew up hearing it with a more negative connotation, that “inspiration”, was only that, inspiration.  A puff of air, and then, no more.

Of course this was within a spiritual context.  Sometimes though, inspiration is just what I need to get going on a project.  Today, it involved talking to dear C who shared with me some food blogs per my request.  This was after she inspired me to eat lunch and cut my grapefruit, a daunting task for someone who doesn’t like to eat grapefruit because of the work involved in peeling it.  I know it sounds bad and lazy, but there it is, I don’t like getting my hands dirty.  So I asked, “Do you know what the best way to cut a grapefruit is?” and C replied that she did not, she did not particularly like grapefruits very much.  So I found an article someone had wrote, with good, clear, photos.  The cutting option proved to look simple enough and would land me with triangular shaped grapefruit pieces that I could eat with a fork alone, so I decided to try it.  It worked pretty nicely, and the only regret I have is that the taste of the skin is still evident when you eat a grapefruit like that.  I’m not entirely sure I will do it again because the slight bitterness tarnishes the sweetness of the grapefruit for me, but when I want to, now I have the option to.  By the way, I love “How-To” guides and videos; they remind me of shows, entertainment pieces.  So pretty pictures, videos, presentation, actually does make a difference to me.  It turns what might appear to be a boring job into something of art, almost.  A triangle here, a cylinder there.  I know I’ve posted some rather negative items lately, ironically in my quest to rediscover certain hobbies, so I’ll leave you with one of C’s recommendations for me, a food blog with particularly pretty photos that I liked:

http://www.annies-eats.com/

Leave a Reply

