I still need to sleep.

Again?  You mean I haven’t learned my lesson?

Not so fast, chickadee.  The truth is, I’ve been going to bed late ever since I got food poisoning last Saturday.  I’m not sure why, because they aren’t related, food poisoning and sleep, that is, although I can hypothesize about why one might be related to the other.  For instance, because of the weekend, my room is a bit out of sorts, and somehow that feeling of being unsettled stays with me.  It stays with me in the sense that in the back of my mind, there’s a vague knowledge that I have something to do.  This burden lies there waiting to be lifted, but since it’s so vague, I divert attention from it with Facebook, Gmail, my phone, my phone, my phone, and before I know it, the time for sleep has arrived.  Maybe this is all a lame excuse for procrastination, and before I become sadder and guiltier by the minute, we shall change the topic.

So the point is.  No, really, there has to be a point.

I had dinner with M today.  It was a quiet dinner, and as I chomped down on my food, I took a few breaths to look up at M.  A burst of recognition and an amused smile broke out on my face, as it usually does when something has just clicked.  “What’s wrong?  You’re tired, aren’t you” I say.  M’s eyes light up for a second as she responds, informing me that yes, she woke up at 5am that morning.  After that, both of us return to examining our food with our mouths.  It’s that little moment of connection, the one that makes me laugh for a second and return back to my food in peace, that makes eating out with a companion fun.  Then some moments later, I will look up again.  It feels like a dance, one between content grazing on a novel meal and curious gathering of updates on a familiar friend.

The B says I have spidey-sense, which is a good thing and a bad thing.  For now, there’s not much I can do about it.  I’m glad that they notice, though.

Today I read some definitions of certain logic fallacies.  Now my problem with some of the fallacies on the list is that I find myself asking, “Okay, it’s a fallacy, but what’s wrong with this fallacy?”  So many people want to point out “fallacies” as if they are the end all for your statement.  Like, if you use one, it’s game over.  But so what, if it doesn’t really contribute to the argument at a purely objective level, it’s still a valid point.  For instance, the “Genetic” fallacy, the fallacy that you judged something based on from whence it came.  Perhaps in the world of debate, the logic fallacy “genetic” is not acceptable for understandable reasons as it takes away attention from the pure argument itself, but in the actual world, I don’t think pointing out where something comes from should be considered “an argument that uses poor reasoning”.  In fact, one could argue that it should not belong on the list of fallacies.  Who decides what is poor reasoning and what is not?

Now, I just Wiki’d the list of fallacies, and it turns out it is on the list of “informal fallacies”, which makes sense.  I rest my rant then.  Blackwell defines informal fallacies as “arguments that are fallacious for reasons other than structural (formal) flaws and which usually require examination of the argument’s content”.  Alright, I’ll take that.  After all guys, we know source matters.  Source matters!  (Yes, cause typing it with an exclamation point will make it all the more believable.  What is that, the punctuation mark fallacy?)  And now, “Because Mom says so”, will still ring true.

Note to self: Do not inform any future children of logic fallacies lest they attempt to undermine my authority.

I hope it’s obvious that I’m kidding.  Big sigh.

Leave a Reply

