Competition

I never thought I was competitive, but that’s because I was judging myself in arenas that I knew I wasn’t good at– strategy games, sports, speed-anything.  I used to feel quite bewildered when my friends exhibited any signs of competitiveness in these arenas.  “It’s just a game and I want to have fun” was my mantra.  But when it comes to items that are close to me, like writing, music, or even caring, for example, I realized that I’m actually kind of competitive.  And it’s embarrassing to admit that.  It’s embarrassing to admit that I care about how others esteem me, care about having bragging rights, care about being near the top of some epic dung hill.  Because that’s what this all is, a dung hill.

I want bragging rights for being on top of a dung hill?  Really, Esther?

I need my eyes readjusted.  Today I had my breathing readjusted.  Through the stress of the day, the knot in my stomach grew and grew, until by the end, I could feel myself struggling to breathe normally.  Then the Lord reminded me to breathe, and so I breathed His name, “Oh Lord Jesus, Oh Lord Jesus” and felt myself relax.  All the stress of the day was dropped as I buried myself in His precious Name.  Jesus, that Name that charms our fears, that bids our sorrows cease!  ‘Tis music in the sinner’s ear, ’tis life and health and peace.

Leave a Reply

