Day One

I tried to describe what happened in my class today to my friend.  I said I wanted to post about it, partially for social commentary purposes and partially because I was humored as well, but he said I was being passive-aggressive.  Eventually as I explained my thought process, he exclaimed “Wow, I don’t think like that.”  Now when someone says that, I start to wonder if I explained myself correctly or not.  What if I don’t actually think like that?  It’s the OCD part of me.  It’s like when my instructor tells us not to plagiarize or cheat.  I start to anxiously wonder if I am accidentally going to cheat.  It’s a little strange, really.

Neurosis aside, the first day of class went relatively alright.  We were asked to introduce ourselves and explain why we wanted to be a speech pathologist.  I had to echo my instructor “Well I want to be happy too!  And you know I can’t fix the economy so …”  Laughter ensued, but you know I wasn’t really trying to be funny, or was I?  It’s that weird chicken and egg thing that happens when I’m talking.  All of a sudden the thoughts and intentions are mixed up with the words coming out of your mouth and that, my friends, is why I prefer to write over speak.  One can clearly think before they post, at least a little.  At least it would seem that way to me.

The actual subject matter of the class was quite foreign to me.  However, what was really foreign were my classmates.  I felt like I was in school again (well, obviously).  School is not like work.  In school, I am not given tasks to complete on site anymore, and when the classroom is filled with chatter before the instructor begins speaking I can’t really fathom why.  At work, I make rounds, I ask how folks are doing, I help them understand, I troubleshoot their computer.  In class, I sit at my desk and I wonder, where is the instructor?  What are people actually talking about?  They’re talking about books?  I thought the International version wasn’t legal?  Well I better not say anything, in case I offend someone by saying so.

The class is large, and I can’t remember hardly anyone’s name.  There are two girls who are hoping to become therapists for singers.  I make a mental note since I think it sounds interesting.  There is one girl from Boston.  There are two guys in my classes.  Then there are the rest, and I can’t remember much more than that.

My instructor says that newborns look like aliens, and I can’t help but feel a little offended.  What is it about a public setting that makes certain comments more offensive than if they had been spoken to me in a different context?  I want to know.

Leave a Reply

