Cereal for days

Cereal is an appropriate lunch meal, right?

Hubby wakes up early to go to work.  I woke up today at the same time because my stomach was hungry.  I guess eating salmon, veggies, and rice wasn’t enough to last me through a longer night.  So steel-cut oats, berries (how I MISS the NZ berries), and banana, and then off for some reading and quiet time which led to falling asleep.  I mean I guess it was inevitable since I was reading in bed.  Or was it?

Four hours later…

I can’t decide if it’s breakfast or lunch time.  But I haven’t established any sort of lunch meal routine, so I boil an egg and eat cereal.  I need some convincing that lunch is a worthwhile meal to eat, but cooking two meals in a day doesn’t seem like a great idea, and sandwiches don’t seem great either.  So I eat breakfast twice.

I realized recently that instead of buying the hubby sandwich meat, I could just roast a chicken and we could use that!  It’s yummier, and I don’t have to worry about bad nitrates!  So tonight I’m going to roast a cornish hen.  The last time I did it, it kind of grossed me out.  Because when I pulled it out of it’s plastic sack, it looked like a real chicken.  A headless, naked one.  EEKS.  So I was a little squeamish.  Yesterday though, I cooked a salmon head!

Mom’s Recipe for Salmon Heads

  • Clean fish head (I asked the fish folks at the Asian market counter to do this, aka, remove the gills and scales, and cut it in half lengthwise)
  • Put salt and pepper on both sides of both halves.  Pat dry (I forgot to do this, but Mom says it helps the frying).  Let it sit for like 10 minutes.
  • Put some oil, and a few ginger slices.  Pan fry both sides of the fish, Mom said until it’s lightly browned or something, a minute or two?
  • Add chopped green onions, rice wine (like half a cup), and like a tablespoon of soy sauce.  Cover and simmer for like fifteen minutes. You should also flip the fish in the middle of the time cause Mom said it would be better that way.  Flipping the fish is kind of difficult with particularly large salmon heads.  I had my hubby help.  Mom said to use a spatula.

And that’s all!  It’s a mellow flavor, hubby wanted to add salt, but I was pleased with it.  Reminded me of childhood.

So I should be okay with naked chickens, right?

Anyhow, I looked up some recipes online but they all asked for roasting pans and I didn’t want to pull out our roasting pan.  I mean, we do have one.. but.. I don’t want to wash it cause it looks too much like a contraption.

So I knew I had a recipe for roasting a cornish hen from one of those food box companies around Thanksgiving time!  And it used a regular pan.  If they say I can do it, I know it won’t be a disaster.  Thank you, Blue Apron!

Next, searching for recipes for some green beans cause you can’t just have a meal with chicken, I think.

Leave a Reply

