Success and Failures

Yesterday, I made a meatloaf.  Not that exciting, but hubby really likes meatloaf, and the recipe I got was from another sister who got it from another sister who got it from another sister who knows where (sorry, I would give proper credit if I could), so I knew it was good.  It was easy and fairly foolproof, except that I didn’t know at what temperature the oven was supposed to be.  We tried it at 350 and just popped it back in if it wasn’t done.  It uses oats, which I like.  So here you go, a tried and true recipe!

IMG_5952.jpg

Some adjustments on my part:  I didn’t have shredded cheese yesterday so I just shredded up some cheese slices that Dear uses for lunch.  It ended up that they were chunky pieces in the meatloaf.  Yum. I also didn’t want to cry too much while cutting the onion, so I chopped it up pretty errr, large.  That meant the onion pieces were kind of spicy.  Not so yum.

The other day, I also decided to make salmon with a pesto and tomato on top, as seen here.  However, what I didn’t realize was that because I had sockeye salmon, which is a leaner variety, it wasn’t ideal for such a recipe.  All the sources said that it tasted better with a light seasoning and panfried (not oven), but alas, I had already chopped up tomatoes and pulled out four large pieces of foil and didn’t want to waste it, even though my economics class would have said sunk cost, sunk cost!  Alas, sometimes even sound logic cannot overcome internal flawed heuristics.  So I reluctantly stuck the salmon into the oven, pulled them out, felt they weren’t quite done (How can you tell with sockeye, it’s still red!), and put them back in.  I was really worried about overcooking them because I knew it was a very high possibility with how thin they were, and when I pulled them out of the oven the second time, I knew they were overcooked.  Not only that, but whoever did the fillet-ing job did a poor job and so there were lots and lots of bones.  I may be Asian, but I’m not that good at eating fish with a lot of small bones.  In fact, I am very, very, slow.  I felt that meal was kind of a failure, even though hubby assured me that he liked it.

I also have been making cauliflower, but overcooking it every single time.  I wonder how many minutes it’s supposed to take, or how I’m supposed to know it’s done because I don’t want to keep peeking under the lid and checking.  Or should I peek?  The thing is, if I peek, it all kind of looks the same, and if I pull out a floret to eat, I will almost certainly burn my tongue.  I sound like I’m making excuses.  All right, I guess if at first I don’t succeed, try, try, again!

Leave a Reply

