Chinese Chicken Noodle Soup

From Tiny Urban Kitchen

This is now a favorite for me to make!  It’s super easy.

Here’s what she has for her instructions

“3 1/2 pounds chicken bones, necks, backs, and/or pieces
9 cups water
1 cup Chinese rice wine or sake
6 slices of fresh ginger (lightly smashed)
Salt and pepper to taste”

Usually, you bring it to a boil and cook it for 1.5 hours.  I want to try it with a pressure cooker today.

This site says with a pressure cooker, you could reduce the time by 1/3 typically, so I’m guessing I probably could do this in about 30 minutes, which interestingly is about the same time Jen’s beef noodle soup recipe takes.  Alright, here we go!

//edit//

OK we are eating yesterday’s leftovers tonight because the cornish hen FAILED to defrost overnight in the fridge.  Like what?  Yes.  I took it out and it was still hard.  What am I supposed to do with that?  I hate using the microwave to defrost because it always ends up that the meat accidentally gets cooked a little.  Gross.  At least I know our fridge is working!  Though it may need some recalibration, folks?

 

//edit again//

OK, I think I managed to defrost the hen enough in water so that I could chop it apart and put it into the soup.  We’ll see how it goes!

How do you defrost your chicken meat?  I dislike handling chicken meat, because I once got salmonella in college, and chicken was definitely suspect.  I still don’t handle it confidently.  How do you handle your chicken meat?

I’m just hoping the pressure cooker doesn’t explode.  They don’t make the exploding kind anymore, do they?

Leave a Reply

