Ballet as an adult

Thanks to Groupon, I took my first adult ballet class today.  It was just me and this other middle-aged man, so that was interesting.  Both of us were beginners, so luckily I didn’t have to be too embarrassed by my flailing around.  It was somewhat fun, although towards the end, I got dizzy doing the turnarounds (can’t remember the vocab).  I noticed my knee hurt a bit afterwards, probably from the last jumps we did, or maybe from the deep pliés?  I know I overpronate in my right foot, and I did a little research and apparently I have what’s called a larger Q-angle, especially in my right leg which is prone to injury.  So I’ve been trying to do a tiny bit of research on what I can do to prevent more pain if I continue using the rest of the classes.  It’s interesting because there are those who support the barefoot movement and others who talk about motion control using orthotics.  I’m not sure what to believe at this point.  Overall, doing strengthening exercises seems like a good move either way.

Leave a Reply

