Negimaki: Japanese Beef Rolls

I didn’t want to go out to eat and spend a lot of money, but I didn’t have anything set for dinner either.  I noticed I still had enoki mushrooms in the fridge, so I remembered the Japanese beef rolls I had said I wanted to make last week.  I looked up the recipe again, but the oven and basting thing looked like too much work and like I was asking for a burn, so I found a similar one, with a video, no less!  Hoorah. It was my first time using mirin and trying to cut up sirloin into thin pieces, and while it wasn’t perfect because my cuts of beef were awful, I was still able to roll them up with some goodies inside and fry them up!  Some of them were a little more rare than others, so my husband had to microwave those pieces.  Whoops.  Anyhow, it was delicious!  Next time I’ll look for pre-cut thin slices.

Ingredients:

  • Wrapping: Thinly sliced sirloin
  • Innards: Enoki mushroom with bottom gross stuff cut off, Asparagus with bases snapped off and cut into halves crosswise to be somewhat proportional to the meat, and Green onions cut into halves crosswise so about as long as the asparagus.   The innards poke out a bit after they get wrapped in the meat.
  • Basting sauce: Equal parts of Mirin and Soy Sauce, and a bit of Oil

Easy, right?  It was delicious, and passed my husband’s test (not an easy test to fail, but regardless, it must be mentioned).  I made a plate of these, maybe five or so for each of us, and we ate it with a side of rice for dinner.

Leave a Reply

