Shabu Shabu/Hot Pot/Experiment

I tried to experiment today.  It turned out okay.  Not amazing, but not gross, which is pretty good.

I really like satay sauce I found out, so I wanted to try a recipe.  This was the first one I found, so I used it.  For the soup I didn’t have all the ingredients as usual, so I did

3 tablespoons of Satay sauce, one tablespoon of sweet chili sauce, about four cups of chicken soup and half a lime, also about 2 tablespoons of fish sauce.  I bought pork for sukiyaki (pre-sliced) at the Mitsuwa, and also enoki mushrooms so we used that, as well as napa cabbage to put into the soup.  Then I made a sesame sauce, a sort of adaptation of this, which was a combination of blended sesame seeds, sesame oil, soy sauce, rice vinegar, sugar, garlic, salt,and a little green onions, and some of the kombu dashi that I had made.  We cooked the udon in the kombu dashi, and then I used that to refill the satay broth when it got low.  The satay broth turned out pretty good.  The sesame paste was o-k, I thought there was a little bit of bitterness, but hubby didn’t taste any, so I don’t know.  The taste was a lot better once we added the garlic.

Found out sukiyaki is different from shabu shabu.  Need to try that next.

Leave a Reply

