Kapok Press: I Can Do It! and Autism

It’s been awhile since I blogged!  I guess I forgot about my little niche on the internet.  I’ve been spending a lot of time on Facebook groups actually, getting advice for my other challenges that I haven’t written about here yet.

My little autistic student is doing very well since I last posted.  I started her in the I Can Do It!  Books, which have huge, color-coded letter names for the notes, and a cut out keyboard that you can put behind the keys, which tells you the names of the notes.  It worked perfectly for my student, and she actually paid attention the book (for once!) and played the notes purposefully!  I was SO proud of her, as was her mother.  It was an emotional moment for us, and made me so glad that we were trying to work with her as much as possible.

In the meantime, I’ll be running off to teach one of my friend’s kids.  She’s a little bit impulsive with playing in my opinion and often gets the intervals wrong as she reads, so I’m going to try Diane Hidy’s notey-noteheads with her and see if that helps her with her reading.  Also both of my students who are from Yamaha tend to bang on the keys a little.  I wonder if it’s just them, because I don’t remember doing that when I was a kid!  I also don’t like loud sounds though.  We’ll see if we can work on that today too.

I’ve also been trying out different expense tracking softwares.  My Music Staff was very cool, but costs money, so I’m still searching.  Currently I’m trying out Wave.  I don’t like that it doesn’t have the calendar option like My Music Staff does, but the invoices it produces are quite pretty and professional-looking.

Dear husband and I will be moving soon, so if I end up with only a couple students at my new location, I’ll be able to manage invoicing with something simple.

Leave a Reply

